What is carob?

In view of the universal obsession with a healthy diet and a decrease in total caloric intake becomes more and more popular once the product is unknown to us - carob.

Carob (in other locust tree pod Constantinople, Johns bread) - the powder obtained from the pods of the carob bean.

Homeland Carob assumed Srednezemnomore. It annually produces about 135 000 tons of powder from the dried pods. The main supplier of Carob in Europe - Spain.

Directly carob beans are sweet (50% of sugars) and juicy pulp, they are often compared with the cocoa beans (carob is a bit like the taste of cocoa powder, but unlike cocoa, the first has a sweet taste, slightly astringent and spicy). Sometimes roasted and unroasted.

Carob currently widely used in confectionery (candy, a variety of paste glaze, chocolate, biscuits, cakes, biscuits), as well as in products for diabetics. The apparent advantage of its sweet taste (which significantly reduces the consumption of sugar or completely eliminates the need to use it).

Carob: the benefits and harms

First, carob truly rich in vitamins (A, B, V2, V3 and D) and minerals (large amounts of calcium, phosphorus, potassium and magnesium, and it contains a udobousvoyaemoy to the body shape of iron, copper, nickel and manganese, and barium).

Also, carob is a good source of fiber, it contains tannins that bind and remove toxins. The composition of the product - a low percentage of body fat (which allows him to be considered a diet).

Unlike cocoa, Carob contains no psychotropic substances, like theobromine and caffeineWhich are in chocolate - they are able to improve mental alertness and addictive. There is little in the Carob cholesterol and fats, as I remarked earlier; contains oxalate, calcium-binding, and promote the formation of kidney stones. And to top it all, it does not have the carob chocolate allergenicity.

The carob, unlike chocolate, no oxalic acidWhich does not allow the body to use calcium and zinc. And these minerals are needed for healthy skin - which is why excessive consumption of chocolate is considered to be one of the causes of acne and acne.

There is also no information about the presence of carob salsolinola which is present in chocolate, and is known to be involved in the development of addiction.

Products containing carob in the composition, is resistant to oxidation. After all, under the influence of environmental factors (light, heat) fats are oxidized property. Thus, there is an unpleasant taste rancid. Carob Also, since almost no fat (0,7 100 g per gram of product), it is resistant to oxidation, which significantly increases the shelf life.

Therefore, more and more often in the food industry Carob replaced 15-30% cocoa without changing the taste of the final product (slab chocolate, chocolate icing, cupcakes, ice cream, semi-finished products for cakes, biscuits).

Information about the dangers of Carob no. But in order to avoid an allergic reaction, it is better not to abuse the product and, if necessary, pass the test for individual intolerance.

Carob: simple recipes

Chocolate-based Carob

Ingredients:

  • cocoa butter - 50-60 g;
  • carob - 6 tbsp;
  • nuts / dried fruit / spices to taste and inspiration :)

Preparation:

Melt cocoa butter in a water bath. Stir, add the chopped nuts and carob / dried fruit. Once again mix well, spread on a lot of molds, a little cool and put in the freezer for about an hour to complete hardening.

Muffins from carob

Ingredients:

  • wheat flour - 200 g;
  • baking powder - 2 tsp;
  • sunflower oil - 50 ml;
  • milk - 200 ml;
  • Cinnamon - 1 tsp;
  • carob - 25 g;
  • honey / syrup or molasses - 100 of

Preparation:

Sift in a bowl the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and carob. In the circle, combine the honey / syrup, butter and milk. Pour the liquid into the dry mixture and whisk whisk 2 minutes.
Put the dough into the molds and bake 20-25 180 minutes at grad. Let cool, then remove from the molds.

Browne (syroedchesky)

Ingredients:

  • Dried dates - ½ cup;
  • Dried cherry / cranberry / raisin (you can mix it all together) - ½ cup;
  • carob - 4 tbsp;
  • walnuts - 1 glass;
  • honey / agave syrup /maple syrup - 3 tbsp;

Preparation:

All the ingredients in a blender grind or chop them with a knife (you can, as an option, scroll through a meat grinder). Add the carob and honey or syrup. Mix and tamp in a square shape. Send 1 in the freezer for an hour. Once cut into slices. Store in the refrigerator.

Chocolate-orange "truffles"

Ingredients:

oatmeal (bran) - ½ cup;

  • coconut - 2 tbsp;
  • carob - 2 tbsp;
  • small orange peel 1;
  • dates - 5-6 pieces;
  • coconut oil - 2 tbsp;
  • Jerusalem artichoke syrup - 2 tbsp;

Preparation:

Flakes can be pre-fill with water for several minutes, then drain any excess liquid. The blender mix and grind everything except the oil and syrup until homogeneous. In a separate container, mix coconut oil and Jerusalem artichoke syrup, and then connect the two mixtures. Beat 1 minute. From this "test" balls roll, roll in carob, coconut or cocoa. Store in the refrigerator.

Что такое кэроб?

Ввиду всеобщей одержимости здоровым питанием и уменьшением общей калорийности пищи все большую популярность обретает некогда неизвестный нам продукт – кэроб.

Кэроб (по-другому плоды рожкового дерево, цареградский стручок, Иоаннов хлеб) – порошок, получаемый из стручков рожкового дерева семейства бобовых.

Родиной кэроба принято считать Среднеземноморье. Там ежегодно производится порядка 135 000 тонн порошка из высушенных стручков. Основной поставщик кэроба в Европе — Испания.

Непосредственно бобы рожкового дерева имеют сладкую (50% сахаров) и сочную мякоть, их нередко сравнивают с какао-бобами (кэроб немного напоминает по вкусу какао-порошок, только в отличие от какао, первый имеет сладкий вкус, чуть вяжущий и пряный). Бывает обжаренный и необжаренный.

В настоящее время кэроб активно используется в кондитерской промышленности (конфеты, различные пасты, шоколадные глазури, бисквиты, пряники, печенье), а также в продукции для диабетиков. Явное его преимущество в сладком вкусе (что значительно сокращает расход сахара либо полностью избавляет от необходимости его использовать).

Кэроб: польза и вред

Прежде всего, кэроб поистине богат витаминами (А, В, В2, В3 и D) и минеральными веществами (большое количество кальция, фосфора, калия и магния, а также в нем содержатся в удобоусвояемой для организма форме железо, медь, никель и марганец и барий).

Также кэроб является хорошим источником клетчатки, содержит дубильные вещества, которые связывают и выводят токсины. В составе продукта — низкий процент жира (что позволяет ему считаться диетическим).

В отличие от какао, кэроб не содержит таких психотропных веществ, как теобромин и кофеин, которые есть в шоколаде – они способны повышать психическую активность и вызывают привыкание. Практически нет в кэробе холестерина и жиров, как я заметила ранее; не содержит оксалатов, связывающих кальций и способствующих образованию почечных камней. И в довершении ко всему, кэроб не обладает аллергенностью шоколада.

В кэробе, в отличие от шоколада, нет щавелевой кислоты, которая не дает организму использовать кальций и цинк. А минералы эти необходимы для здоровой кожи – вот почему чрезмерное потребление шоколада считается одной из причин прыщей и угревой болезни.

Также нет информации о наличии в кэробе сальсолинола, который присутствует в шоколаде и, как известно, участвует в выработке зависимости.

Продукты, содержащие кэроб в составе, устойчивы к окислению. Ведь под воздействием факторов окружающей среды (света, тепла) жиры имеют свойство окисляться. Таким образом, появляется неприятный вкус прогорклости. Кэроб же, поскольку почти не содержит жира (0,7 г на 100 грамм продукта), устойчив к этому окислению, что значительно увеличивает его срок годности.

Поэтому все чаще в пищевой промышленности кэробом заменяют 15-30% какао без изменения вкусовых качеств конечного продукта (плиточный шоколад, шоколадная глазурь, кексы, мороженое, полуфабрикаты для тортов, бисквиты).

Информации о вреде кэроба в настоящее время нет. Но во избежание аллергической реакции лучше не злоупотреблять продуктом и, при необходимости, сдать анализ на индивидуальную непереносимость.

Кэроб: простые рецепты

Шоколад на основе кэроба

Ингредиенты:

  • какао-масло – 50-60 г;
  • кэроб – 6 ст.л;
  • орехи/сухофрукты/специи по вкусу и вдохновению:)

Приготовление:

Растопите какао-масло на водяной бане. Помешивая, добавьте кэроб и измельченные орехи/сухофрукты. Еще раз хорошо перемешайте, разложите массу по формочкам, немного остудите и поместите в морозилку примерно на час до полного застывания.

Маффины из кэроба

Ингредиенты:

  • мука пшеничная – 200 г;
  • разрыхлитель – 2 ч.л;
  • масло подсолнечное – 50 мл;
  • молоко – 200 мл;
  • корица – 1 ч.л;
  • кэроб – 25 г;
  • мед/сироп или черная патока – 100 г.

Приготовление:

Просейте в миску муку, разрыхлитель, корицу и кэроб. В кружке смешайте мед/сироп, масло и молоко. Влейте жидкость в сухую смесь и взбивайте венчиком 2 минуты.
Переложите тесто в формочки и выпекайте 20-25 минут при 180 град. Остудите, после выньте из формочек.

Брауни (сыроедческий)

Ингредиенты:

  • финики сушеные – ½ стакана;
  • сушеная вишня/клюква/изюм (можно миксовать все вместе) – ½ стакана;
  • кэроб – 4 ст.л;
  • грецкие орехи – 1 стакан;
  • мед/сироп агавы/кленовый сироп – 3 ст.л;

Приготовление:

Все ингредиенты измельчите в блендере или порубите их ножом (можно, как вариант, прокрутить через мясорубку). Добавьте кэроб и мед или сироп. Перемешайте и утрамбуйте в квадратную форму. Отправьте в морозилку на 1 час. После разрежьте на ломтики. Храните в холодильнике.

Шоколадно-апельсиновые «трюфели»

Ингредиенты:

овсяные хлопья (отруби) – ½ стакана;

  • кокосовая стружка – 2 ст.л;
  • кэроб – 2 ст.л;
  • цедра 1 небольшого апельсина;
  • финики – 5-6 шт;
  • кокосовое масло – 2 ст.л;
  • сироп топинамбура – 2 ст.л;

Приготовление:

Хлопья можно предварительно залить водой на несколько минут, после всю лишнюю жидкость слить. В блендере перемешайте и измельчите все, кроме масла и сиропа, до однородности. В отдельной ёмкости смешайте кокосовое масло и сироп топинамбура, а затем соедините две смеси. Взбивайте 1 минуту. Из полученного «теста» скатайте шарики, обваляйте в кэробе, кокосовой стружке или какао. Храните в холодильнике.