Continuation - early reading here.

Honey - a sugar substitute?

Benefits of honey and its healing properties, you can dedicate a separate article. Now I want to tell you whether to replace them sugar is appropriate.

Of course, low-calorie delicacy honey can not be called (300-330 calories depending on the grade; glycemic index (HI) ranges from 30 90 up units, also depends on the type of honey collection time and pr.faktorov).

I will dwell a little more on the composition of honey: it is known that it contains fructose (GI fructose -19), glucose (GI Glucose = 100) and a dozen of oligosaccharides. The ratio of glucose and fructose (may be different!) In honey effect on glycemic index. For example, some varieties of flower honey (acacia, chestnut) the possibility of lowering the level of glucose (at least 24%) and high content of fructose (up to 45%). And, as a consequence, a lower glycemic index.

So, if you want to lose weight and avoid the "fat" calories at the waist, it is desirable to use honey varieties with a lower GI. Here are some of them:

  • Acacia honey (GI = 32);
  • Eucalyptus honey (GI = 45-52);
  • chestnut, thyme, heather, lime honey (GI = 49-55);
  • Buckwheat honey (GI = 50).

Naturally, abusing such a product as honey with a high calorific value can not (do not believe those who say "do not get fat from honey"; anything that is not in the measure, the harm).

But why not use acacia, lime, spicy buckwheat instead of sugar (honey and require much less, because it is sweeter), adding to those dishes that are sugar-free you, say, categorically rejects (replace sugar for honey in the curd , unsweetened yogurt, porridge, pancakes and cheesecakes ready).

I use honey rarely (mainly syrups) as in ready meals such as cottage cheese sweets I do not add at all (I can almost natural vanilla / cinnamon) - I love the taste of familiar products. As for baking, honey is not recommended to be heat treated. Firstly, when heated to 60 degrees he loses all of its beneficial properties. But it's not so bad. Prolonged heating honey above 40 degree in it carcinogens are formed.

Thus, I can not say that honey can be safely replace sugar in all situations. My verdict: cold dishes - yes, hot - no.

Maple syrup as a sugar substitute.

I want to pay a little attention to this natural sugar substitute, such popular in Canada and North America.

We have, unfortunately, is less common, and the price is quite high (in fact to get all you need to thicken the syrup liter approximately 40 gallons of sugar maple sap). But the more valuable product - instead of harmful sucrose it contains dextrose, easily digestible source of carbohydrates, which increases the body's energy reserves.

Maintaining a huge amount of antioxidants and polyphenols makes this product a truly curative, it is used in the prevention and treatment of diabetes, cancer, cardiovascular diseases and others.

The glycemic index maple syrup - 55-65. This, in essence, the same as in the above me honey varieties. But, unlike honey rarely cause allergies and has no contraindications and less calories (kcal total 261). According to the content of minerals, according to many sources, maple syrup at times superior to honey.

Also, its advantage is that by heating the sugar substitute does not lose its properties, so it can be used in the preparation of any food (hot, cold, baking and even meat, vegetable).

Taste - a bit unusual for us Europeans. It is quite spicy, you might say, spiced caramel with a slight taste of wood. Again, as part of such a product should not be anything other than 100% natural syrup / maple juice (without sugar and other additives). Undoubtedly, this is a great option to replace sugar and give your dish a unique flavor nuance (though not as cheap as we would like) with great health benefits.

Продолжение – начало читать здесь.

Мед – заменитель сахара?

Пользе меда и его целебным свойствам можно посвятить отдельную статью. Сейчас же я хочу рассказать, уместно ли заменить им сахар.

Конечно, низкокалорийным лакомством мед назвать никак нельзя (300-330 ккал в зависимости от сорта; гликемический индекс (ГИ) колеблется от 30 до 90 единиц, также зависит от вида меда, времени сбора и пр.факторов).

Остановлюсь чуть подробнее на составе меда: известно, что он содержит фруктозу (ГИ фруктозы -19), глюкозу (ГИ глюкозы = 100) и еще десяток олигосахаридов. Соотношение глюкозы и фруктозы (может быть разным!) в мёде влияет на уровень гликемического индекса. Например, для некоторых сортов цветочного мёда (акациевый, каштановый) возможно пониженное содержание глюкозы (минимум 24 %) и повышенное содержание фруктозы (до 45%). И, как следствие, более низкий гликемический индекс.

Так, если вы хотите похудеть и избежать «отложения» калорий на талии, желательно использовать сорта меда с более низким ГИ. Приведу некоторые из них:

  • акациевый мед (ГИ=32);
  • эвкалиптовый мед (ГИ=45-52);
  • каштановый, тимьяновый, вересковый, липовый мед (ГИ=49-55);
  • гречишный мед (ГИ=50).

Естественно, злоупотреблять таким продуктом как мед с высокой калорийностью нельзя (не верьте тем, кто говорит «от меда не толстеют»; все, что не в меру, то во вред).

Но почему бы не использовать акациевый, липовый, пряный гречишный вместо сахара (а меда потребуется куда меньше, т.к. он слаще), добавляя в те блюда, которые без сахара вы, скажем, категорически не приемлете (заменить сахар на мед в твороге, несладком йогурте, каше, готовых блинчиках и сырниках).

Я использую мед редко (в основном сиропы), т.к. в готовые блюда типа творога сладости я не добавляю вовсе (могу чуть натуральной ванили/корицы) – люблю привычный вкус продуктов. Что же касается выпечки, мед не рекомендуют подвергать термообработке. Во-первых, при нагревании до 60 градусов он теряет все свои полезные свойства. Но это еще полбеды. При длительном нагревании меда выше 40 градусов в нем образуются канцерогены.

Таким образом, не могу сказать, что медом смело можно заменять сахар во всех ситуациях. Мой вердикт: холодные блюда – да, горячие – нет.

Кленовый сироп в качестве заменителя сахара.

Хочу немного уделить внимания этому натуральному заменителю сахара, такому популярному в Канаде и Северной Америке.

У нас он, к сожалению, менее распространен, да и цена достаточно высока (ведь чтобы получить всего литр сиропа необходимо сгустить около 40 литров сока сахарного клена). Но чем ценен продукт — вместо вредной сахарозы в нем содержится декстроза, легко усвояемый источник углеводов, повышающий энергетические запасы организма.

Содержание огромного количества антиоксидантов и полифенолов делает этот продукт по-настоящему целебным, его используют при профилактике и лечении сахарного диабета, рака, сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний и пр.

Гликемический индекс кленового сиропа – 55-65. Это, по сути, столько же, сколько и в приведенных мной сортах меда. Но, в отличие от меда, крайне редко вызывает аллергию и не имеет противопоказаний, а также менее калориен (всего 261 ккал). По содержанию минералов, как утверждают многие источники, кленовый сироп в разы превосходит мед.

Также его плюс в том, что при нагревании данный заменитель сахара не теряет своих свойств, поэтому его можно использовать в приготовлении любых блюд (горячих, холодных, выпечке и даже мясных, овощных).

Вкус – немного непривычен для нас, европейцев. Он достаточно пикантный, можно сказать, пряный карамельный с легким привкусом дерева. Повторюсь, что в составе подобного продукта не должно быть ничего, кроме 100% натурального сиропа/кленового сока (без сахара и прочих добавок). Бесспорно, это отличный вариант, чтобы заменить сахар и придать вашему блюду неповторимый вкусовой оттенок (пусть и не так дешево, как хотелось бы) с огромной пользой для здоровья.